Edwardstown Football Club Inc. will celebrate its 100th Anniversary in 2019. We remind ourselves of the achievements and of the people who have helped to build a great Football Club at Edwardstown, winner of eighteen Division One Premierships. Only on five unsuccessful occasions – 1969/70, 1974 and 1997/98 – our club unfortunately missed out to play in the final series. Twelve Division One Reserve, ten Division Three, four Division Four, and ten Junior Premierships speak volumes of the tenacity, support and dedication, which players, officials and supporters have contributed over the years. 


This record is regarded as one of the best in South Australian Football.

Coach Jack Ryan

In the year 1931, the late Jack Ryan offered his services for free, and so, became the first official Club Coach. Previously, any coaching conducted in the Club was carried out by the duly elected Practice Captain and Vice Captain, who were not necessarily the same leaders on competition match days.

Jack Ryan, who was the most notable of EFC coaches, coached for twelve years during a period from 1931 to 1943, gained six Premierships, five of which were in consecutive years – 1939/43.

Since that time, twenty-six further notable coaches have trodden the well-worn path, some to bathe in glory and others that gave their utmost in their quest for the elusive Premiership.

The most recent striving for glory is Justin Calderbank.

Early Formative Years

The late Stan Hancock 1962/63 and again 1971/72, Peter Haysman 1976/79 and Ron Ingham 1986/89 and 1992, all coached over four seasons or more, tasting Premiership glory in one or more years.

The late Errol Sterzl, the late Laurie Rusby, Neil McCann, the late Trevor Churchett, Lindsay Backman, John O’Connor, the late Ron Ingham and Mathew Dent, were all successful Premiership Coaches. The jovial late Bob Warsap 1949/60, which was the longest serving Secretary with eleven years, and Treasurer for twelve years, was a great Administrator and helped initiate your present Annual Report.

Vic Wright 1921/36 served a broken period of nine years as Secretary/Treasurer and almost single handedly managed the Club’s affairs during those early formative years.

The late Gordon Ruxton, Lindsay Cliff and Doug Lavender were all diligent secretaries in football administration, both at Club and Association level.

Colin Baker and Mort Daly

The late Colin Barker served eighteen years as Chairman of the Management Committee 1939/56, whilst our longest serving President was the late Mort Daly 1944/56, a period of thirteen years.

During the last eighty years, 106 Club Life Memberships and 36 Playing Life Memberships have been awarded with the worthy recipients qualifying either as a player, or official, with at least ten or more years service to the Club.

From Humble Beginnings to Modern Times

From our first Club’s Best and Fairest winner in Alby Blancard (now deceased), to our latest Benjamin Homburg, the Club has a proud record of fostering the beginnings of many a league career. The most recent to go on and play over one hundred SANFL games are John Martin (Woodville/West Torrens) and Simon Quinn (South Adelaide). With six junior sides in 1999, we look forward to producing future Edwardstown, SANFL and ultimately AFL players.


Since 2004, 8 EFC players have been drafted into the AFL. The standard of our players has become quite evident in fact that during the last twenty-five seasons Edwardstown has had fifteen players who have won Association Medals for their outstanding ability on the playing fields, and of note was the late W. K. Dunn who started with Edwardstown and then went on to win a Magarey Medal for the Sturt Football Club in 1933.


On the Administration side, we have progressed rapidly form the old Management Committee, to the current Board of Directors, who are now charged with the responsibility of administering a football business, turning over many thousands of dollars each financial year. From the days of the old tin shed, which stood near the main gate and spilled its cold soapy waters from the showers to run west down Nelson Street, to the Voluntary Sunday morning brigade of players and supporters who made hundreds of cement blocks to build subsequent more modern Clubrooms – until today we have a modern complex to be so justly proud of.

In concluding this brief coverage of the Club’s history down through the years, it is well that we remember the good times had at the old smoke socials, the smokey old chop nights in the old clubrooms, the many football trips, and the joys and sorrows felt on Grand Final Days. In recent years, the Club has opened its door to incorporate other sporting Clubs. In 1984, the Edwardstown Football Golf Club was formed to give past and present players and members a Golf Club within the Football Club. South Road Cricket Club has and continues to use the clubrooms. In 1992 an Edwardstown Woman’s Football Club was started and has competed with great success winning four Premierships in their short history.

The most recent Club that has been introduced in 1998, to use our great facilities, is the Metro Magic Netball Club; they are a young club that continues to grow. All of the above clubs help to ensure that the Edwardstown Football Club will grow and continue to be a force in today’s competitive climate.

This built up tradition, and so brought maturity to a club in which so many local people have been involved, and have felt proud satisfaction of having been a part of the 90 Years at the Edwardstown Football Club.

If you would like to become one of our esteemed sponsors, please head to our Sponsorship sign up page, thank you.

Sponsorship Page